KCON 2014

I still can’t believe all the kpop bands I saw this weekend. I woke up this morning feeling like it was all just a dream. I’m so lucky to live in LA and be so close to the action, I know hundreds of people spent way more $$ to fly here and book hotels and get VIP seating. Considering how many Korean stars were here though, it’s totally worth it.

Day 1

I had to work on Saturday so I missed most of the concert and was only able to catch Teen Top and G-Dragon. They were both fantastic, but I was disappointed that I missed IU. I heard she sang Good Day, Someday, and Red Shoes. Got to see her in the final good-bye segment when all the bands came out to throw towels into the audience. She looked so lonesome as a little girl walking around on a stage swarming with men. And all the boy band members totally ignored her!  None of them so much as glanced her way. How could they resist such an adorable girl? Well, at least the performance fed into her nerdy alt persona.
iu_aflowerbookmark_kpop_650-430
Day 2

Started off the day by picking up the KPOP-TV crew from their hotel. They had all flown in from San Francisco. We wanted to get a head start, so we arrived at the LA Coliseum by 7:30 a.m. As you can see here, I’m not a morning person.

waiting in line, going over the program

waiting in line, going over the program

Last year was HOT and there was NO SHADE, so I came prepared wearing a thick layer of sunscreen and no make-up, didn’t want to be a melted mess of foundation. Luckily my producer also brought an extra bottle of SPF 50 for touch-ups because my shoulders kept getting red. I recommend bringing an umbrella if you’re as white as me. Water was $4 a bottle, and security confiscated all liquids at every checkpoint, but the press tent had plenty of bottles to keep us hydrated. Thanks Issy!

Went to a k-drama panel with special guests Javabeans and Girlfriday from Dramabeans. The panel was called “Why Do K-Dramas Do That?” and it explored the quirks of kdrama plot lines. For example, they discussed why second male leads are necessary to show how the OTP is true love. Their reasoning was that if the lead character can turn down a “perfect” man to be with her soulmate, then the relationship is truly meant to be. Ummm, okay. I’ll take the second male lead any day.
kang-shin-woo-anjell-10479874-590-393
There were fan meetings for K-drama celebrities Lee Seung Gi, Yoo In Na, and Lee Seo Jin. Unfortunately, pictures were only allowed via a lottery system, and the hordes of fans kept us from getting too close.
seung gi signVeejay Patrick got in on the red carpet action and scored a great pic of SNSD.
Screen shot 2014-08-12 at 12.19.31 AMI spent some time reporting from the Viki booth.
Screen shot 2014-08-12 at 1.12.21 AM
Guess who?
cosplay
There were plenty of vendors and food trucks. From 4-6pm Pinkberry had a happy hour where they sold Pinkbee’s ice cream for $2! I was super excited to try this new trend of high quality ice cream drizzled with fresh honey.

honeyIt was refreshing, and so delicious that a bee dove straight into the ice cream to its watery death. The fresh honey comb was aesthetically pleasing, but chewing the flavorless wax was not. Would definitely like to try this trend again, but with just the honey drizzle. And I would eat it indoors so I don’t kill anymore bees.

After a long day in the field, it was finally time for the concert. Sunday performers included BTS, SPICA, and Jung Joon Young. The stage was different this year, as you can see below, it was shaped like a cross and the audience surrounded it full circle. I felt lucky to be on the side where most of the performers faced forward and felt bad for everyone on the other side of the stage. The singers made an effort to roam around, but they definitely favored my side because that’s where the main media cameras were.
stageCNBlue was my favorite performance of the night. ❤

Girls’ Generation was the crowd favorite. Loved their perky energy, they really engaged the audience. And they ended the night with the lead single that started it all, Gee! Never in a million years did I think I’d actually get to see a live performance of that song.  (✿◠‿◠) (◡‿◡✿) (◕‿◕✿)
This is Zoe Mei, signing off. See you at KCON 2015!!!

kristine

with my kick-ass producer, Kristine. This girl knows how to push through a crowd and stay on schedule.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “KCON 2014

Leave a Reply

