Wilshire Spa

Gave Wilshire Spa a go.

spa

The daily entry fee is $20 ($25 after 10pm) but with a GroupOn I got in for $10. There’s also free parking with validation.

A lot of the women wore flip flops. One lady even had on swim shoes. I understand the need to keep feet clean and the fear or shower floor fungus, but wearing shoes only made the floor dirtier since everyone tracked whatever was on the bottom of their footwear onto the tiles. I’d rather people just wash their feet super clean.

The decor was pleasant but nothing impressive. I did enjoy alternating between the cold and hot pools. That’s not something I’d normally bother with, but I had come with a friend who was really encouraging about it and helped me get over the initial shock of ice cold water.

pools

We also snuck into the steam room even though there was a sign saying that it was closed. It was still operational, although part of the ceiling was falling down.  Other rooms include a sauna, salt room, and charcoal room. The rooms were small, probably couldn’t fit more than 4 people comfortably, but luckily there wasn’t too many ladies around. The men have their own area, and there’s no unisex level to meet up, so don’t expect to lounge with your boy.

There’s plenty of water, no cafe. If you want food, the front desk will order takeout for you and have it delivered.  They offer scrubs and massages, but the massage area looks like a marine surgical unit so I didn’t partake.

I had a really fun time because I came with my friend and it was a great bonding experience, something about sweating out your pores allows conversation to move more freely. I think if I had come alone though I would’ve been bored with access to only a few rooms, and I’d probably drive my self crazy focusing on the visible grime.

water

Pros: Friendly diverse atmosphere, I saw people of all races here, and everyone seemed open to casual conversation. The wood in the locker room is IKEAesque pretty. Easy parking, decent neighborhood with lots of restaurants nearby.

Cons: No extra towels, cheap lotions, subpar cleanliness, limited facilities. Does not operate 24 hours, open till 2am on Fridays and Saturdays.

Grade: C+

Wilshire Spa
3442 Wilshire Blvd
Ste 100
Los Angeles, CA 90010
Neighborhood: Koreatown
(213) 387-0281

Leave a Reply

